Sew much Knitting!

IMG_2401

My sweet grandmother brought lot’s of her vintage fabric stash for me to pick over and find some fun fabrics to re-cover my dining room chairs! Imagine my surprise when nearly all of her stash is as lovely and beautiful as the memories that go with it.  Each piece a wonderful memory from her childhood, her motherhood, her farm life.

IMG_2318

I even scored a wee piece of fabric that was soft and sweet and just happened to be a part of her maternity shirt that she made when she was pregnant with my mom. 

IMG_2328

I am savoring each unique piece she brought over and delighting in the fact that all of her memories and timetables in her life are now back to the future, dusted off and re-purposed into  new much loved and much used dining room chair covers.

 

I have fond memories of my own involving her fabric stash.  I think a lot of little girls, now finding themselves creative mothers, have memories of their own mothers or grandmothers teaching them how to sew, knit or crochet.

IMG_2400 

My grandmother taught me how to sew and whenever I visited her home I headed right to her fabric trunk and pulled out all types of fun pieces.

IMG_2369 

things that I imagined would some day be a dress or pants or a blouse, or even chairs like my mom had.  How ironic is it, that the very same fabric I envisioned would someday be a chair or pillow will now be a chair and if I have enough fabric left over—- a pillow.

IMG_2373

 

I also have other ideas for leftover vintage fabric that I’d like to tackle this year.  Baby crib shoes, a diaper bag, a Spring skirt for myself, a Spring skirt for an upcoming birthday present, pillows, table runner, placemats, napkins.

IMG_2357 

Ouy!  Lot’s of sewing!  Which leads me into my next topic!!!  Besides sewing which I absolutely adore comes knitting.  I love, love, love, knitting!!

IMG_2154

I am almost finished with my first ever sweater!!  You’d think that after knitting for 10+ years I’d have knitted quite a few of these—- but no!   So lot’s of knitting in my future!

IMG_2096 

IMG_2145 

What fun projects are in your future?  Do share!

Leave a Reply

